The Woman Behind Everything: An Evening with Olga Janacek


April 12, 2017 , 7:30 - 9:00 PM

Concert of a Czech pianist Karolina Syrovátková performing music masterpiece of Leoš Janáček: Po Zarostlém Chodníčku (“On an Overgrown Path”):

Book I

1. "Naše večery" ("Our Evenings")

2. "Lístek odvanutý" ("A Blown-Away Leaf")

3. "Pojďte s námi!" ("Come With Us!")

4. "Frýdecká panna Maria" ("The Madonna of Frydek")

5. "Štěbetaly jak laštovičky" ("They Chattered Like Swallows")

6. "Nelze domluvit!" ("Words Fail!")

7. "Dobrou noc!" ("Good Night!")

8. "Tak neskonale úzko" ("Unutterable Anguish")

9. "V pláči" ("In Tears")

10. "Sýček neodletěl!" ("The Screech Owl Has Not Flown Away!")

Hailed for her “musical spontaneity, elegance and technical bravura,” Karolina Syrovatkova, a Czech pianist and educator ,is beginning to be recognized for her innovative approach to performance and pedagogy. Karolina began her professional music studies at the Prague Conservatory in the Czech Republic. Her success at home opened doors to further studies in the United States. She received her Bachelor’s (University of Maryland), Master’s and Doctorate degrees (University of Texas at Austin) summa cum laude. Her final project titled In Search of the Vanished Present in Janáček’s Cycle of Piano Miniatures “On the Overgrown Path” has been nominated to receive the best lecture recital award. In continuation of this project, Karolina is currently working on a book and a recording project of the entire piano works of Leoš Janáček.

Free and open to the public.

Organized by: Consulate General of the Czech Republic in New York